The finalists for the 22nd annual City of Rockingham Sports Star Awards have been announced ahead of the awards ceremony on 20 September.

57 nominations were received across seven categories for the Sports Star Awards, with athletes and clubs from a variety of sporting backgrounds represented in the final shortlist.

City of Rockingham Mayor Barry Sammels said the awards provided an important opportunity for the community to recognise residents who were excelling in their respective sports.

“The City’s Sports Star Awards have marked an annual celebration of outstanding achievement within the local sporting community since 1997,” Mayor Sammels said.

“Over the years the awards have recognised local, state, national and international calibre champions from across the City.

“As usual, the competition for this year’s awards was fierce, and those who have been selected as finalists should be immensely proud of themselves and their clubs.”

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 20 September at the Gary Holland Community Centre.

The City also gratefully acknowledges the support of long time sponsors The Sound Telegraph, Baldivis Health and Fitness, Rockingham F45 Training and returning sponsor Rockingham Centre.

Finalists for the 2018 Sports Star Awards include:

Senior Sports Star of the Year

Steve Ware
Luke Gaisford
Dane Ugle
Maddison Allen


Junior Sports Star of the Year Finalists

Jordan Callum
Jarod Crick
Sophie White
Luke Travers


Sports Person of the Year with Disability

Michael Nvota
Anne-Marie Foster


Volunteer of the Year

Wayne Hunt
Toni Bellingham
Brian Kennedy
Jodie Heath
Bob Chalmers


Club of the Year

Safety Bay Tennis Club
Rockingham Triathlon Club
Rockingham Outriggers Canoe Club
Rockingham Rugby Union Football Club
Rockingham Flames Basketball Club


Team of the Year

Hillman Hornets Cricket Club U15’s Cricket Squad
Rockingham City Football Club U13’s Metro Division 2 Team
Rockingham Raptors Teeball Club U9’s State Teeball Team


John Brown Lifetime Achievement Memorial Award

Warren Boucaut
Brian Kennedy
Verne Klein
Harry Brankstone
Bob Chalmers



Facebook Comments

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!