The City of Rockingham recently held elections for its 2018 Junior Council Leadership team, with Year 6 students from across the community getting the opportunity to showcase their leadership skills.

Comet Bay Primary School’s Ella Smith and Rockingham Montessori School’s Keira Fuller were elected as the City’s Junior Mayors, while Emily Musson from Makybe Rise Primary School and Sharol Naidu from Bungaree Primary School were chosen as deputies.

City of Rockingham Mayor Barry Sammels hailed the quality of the students elected for 2018.

“The Junior Council program has been running in the City since it began in 1989 with 12 students and has grown with the community to involve more than 60 Year Six students from local primary schools and alternative education settings,” Mayor Sammels said.

“I salute the class of 2018 on the quality of their speeches and the excellent leadership skills they displayed during the elections.”

The Junior Council meets once a month in the City of Rockingham Chambers and operates in a similar way to an ordinary council meeting.

Rockingham Montessori School Principal Vanessa Aikins said Keira had been with the school since she was three years old.

“We are delighted about Keira’s selection as Junior Mayor for the City of Rockingham and have no doubt she will do an exceptional job in this role,” Ms Aikins said.

Comet Bay Primary School Principal Graeme Watson said Ella had always been a leader within the school.

Facebook Comments

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!